Skip to main content


Main Content
Frog Fountain

Texas Christian University has received the Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity for the third consecutive year. The award measures an institution’s level of commitment to broadening diversity and inclusion on campus through initiatives, programs and outreach; student recruitment, retention and completion; and hiring practices for faculty and staff. TCU is one of 90 institutions across the United States to earn recognition this year.

“I am pleased that TCU has been recognized for its continued commitment to diversity and inclusion,” Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr. said. “This award acknowledges our significant work and commitment to the efforts underway in the DEI space. It does not represent a destination in our DEI work—rather it will push us to go deeper into our study, actions and efforts.”

Actions taken this year by TCU include the following:

  • TCU established a Student Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award in 2019 to honor a student who leads initiatives addressing inequality, discrimination and exclusion in localized and/or institutional ways.
  • Twenty students participated in the recently established STEM Scholars Program, which covers 100% of the cost of attendance for four years.
  • The Neeley School of Business launched a TCU chapter of the National Association of Black Accountants in 2019.
  • A $10 million gift establishing the endowed Brenda and Mike Harrison Scholarship program; the funds from the endowment will be used to provide permanent need- and merit-based financial aid to students from middle-income families.
  • The Office of Admission created an Access Initiatives Committee, adding a layer of accountability in its review of historically underrepresented students to mitigate bias.
  • The Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid provide numerous scholarships for underrepresented college students.

“The HEED Award process consists of a comprehensive and rigorous application that includes questions relating to the recruitment and retention of students and employees — and best practices for both — continued leadership support for diversity and other aspects of campus diversity and inclusion,” Lenore Pearlstein, publisher of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, said. “We take a detailed approach to reviewing each application in deciding who will be named a HEED Award recipient. Our standards are high, and we look for institutions where diversity and inclusion are woven into the work being done every day across their campus.”

Other recipients of the 2020 HEED Award include:

Adelphi University

Arkansas State University

Augustana College (Illinois)

Ball State University

Brown University

California State University, Fresno

California State University, Fullerton

California State University, Northridge

California State University San Marcos

Case Western Reserve University

Central Washington University

Clemson University

Columbia University in the City of New York

Cuyahoga Community College

Davenport University

East Carolina University

El Paso County Community College District

Florida State University

Framingham State University

Georgia Institute of Technology

Georgia State University

Grand Valley State University

Greenville Technical College

Hillsborough Community College

Indiana University Bloomington

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Kansas State University

Kent State University

Lawrence University

Lehigh University

Louisiana State University

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Miami University

Millersville University

Morgridge College of Education at the University of Denver

Ohio University

Oklahoma State University

Oregon State University

Pikes Peak Community College

Regis College

Rochester Institute of Technology

Santa Rosa Junior College

Seminole State College of Florida

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Stetson University College of Law

SUNY Buffalo State College

SUNY Old Westbury

Swarthmore College

Texas A&M University

Texas Tech University

The University of Alabama at Birmingham

The University of Missouri-Saint Louis

The University of Texas at Austin

The University of Tulsa

Towson University

Union College (New York)

University at Albany, State University of New York

University of Central Florida

University of Cincinnati

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Dayton

University of Georgia

University of Houston

University of Houston Law Center

University of Houston-Downtown

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Kentucky

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

University of Louisville

University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

University of North Florida

University of North Texas

University of Oregon

University of Pittsburgh of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education

University of Rochester

University of South Carolina

University of South Florida

University of West Florida

Virginia Commonwealth University

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

West Chester University of Pennsylvania

West Virginia University

Western Michigan University

Whitworth University

William & Mary

William Marsh Rice University

Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)

Xavier University

Tag IconIn The News/Inclusion