Skip to main content


Main Content

Two will receive honorary doctorates

Texas Christian University and Brite Divinity School will present degrees to more than 2,200 degree candidates May 7 in the Ed and Rae Schollmaier Arena. The 9 a.m. ceremony includes the Bob Schieffer College of Communication, the College of Science & Engineering and the School of Interdisciplinary Studies. The 1 p.m. ceremony includes the College of Fine Arts and the Neeley School of Business. The 5 p.m. ceremony is for AddRan College of Liberal Arts, Brite Divinity School, the College of Education and Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences.

Two will receive honorary degrees. At the morning ceremony, TCU will present Dr. David C. Knight an honorary Doctor of Letters, honoris causa.

Knight is a general surgeon practicing at Waterbury Hospital in Connecticut who uses his medical expertise to help others both at home and abroad. Since 2009 he has traveled to Liberia twice a year to perform as many as 80 surgeries with his team in a variety of disciplines. He is the founder and president of Loupes Around the World and Support JFK, which are two organizations that work to improve health care services in developing countries. In addition to his charitable service abroad, Knight has spent the past eight years serving the TCU community by visiting over 40 classes, presenting at the TCU Pre-Health Institute’s AED Banquet, attending the annual TCU Global Impact on Health event and more.

Dr. Robert T. Rhodes will be awarded a posthumous honorary Doctor of Law, honoris causa at the afternoon ceremony.

Rhodes was an attorney of law, who left his professional practice nearly 40 years ago and spent the rest of his career as a professor at the TCU Neeley School of Business. He died Aug. 14, 2020. Rhodes was recognized as a top professor and was beloved by students, alumni and colleagues alike. He received many awards throughout his career as an educator and was recognized as a top professor in every program in which he taught during his final year on campus, including Honors Professor of the Year from the John V. Roach Honors College, Outstanding EMBA Faculty Member, Favorite Professor Award from the MBA program and Outstanding Fellows Professor from the Neeley Fellows program. He received the Deans’ Teaching Award in 2014.

Learn more about TCU commencement.

Tag IconTop Stories/Academics